This page was printed from

ASTM International panel honors Patricia Annis

Industry News | July 19, 2016 | By:

ASTM International’s Committee on Textiles has presented its top annual award, the Award of Merit, to Patricia Annis of the University of Georgia (UGA) in Athens. The award, which includes the accompanying title of fellow, is ASTM’s highest recognition for individual contributions to developing standards.

The committee honored Annis for her technical contributions and leadership of the two largest subcommittees, D13.59 on Test Fabric Methods and D13.60 on Fabric Test Methods, Specific, within committee D13. She has been a member of ASTM since 1988. She previously received the Award of Appreciation in 1999 and the Herbert T. Pratt Award for Excellence in Terminology in 2002.

Annis is an associate professor in UGA’s College of Family and Consumer Sciences, in which she teaches textiles, merchandising and interiors. She has been with the university since 1993, having previously served as a graduate research assistant and instructor at Kansas State University.

In addition to ASTM, Annis is a member of the Southeastern Microscopy Society, Gamma Sigma Delta Honor Society, American Association of Textile Chemists and Colorists, American Furniture Manufacturer’s Association, Phi Upsilon Omicron Honor Society, International Nonwovens and Disposables Association and the Kappa Omicron Nu Honor Society.

Based in West Conshohocken, Pa., ASTM International develops and delivers voluntary consensus standards. Today, more than 12,000 ASTM standards are used around the world to improve product quality, enhance health and safety, strengthen market access and trade, and build consumer confidence.

Share this Story